Alan Fitzpatrick talks to Jaded following his electric 5 hours appearance.

On Sunday 2nd September, the Jaded crowd witnessed a landmark five hour set from Alan Fitzpatrick. Here we chat to him about the experience and release two one hour live recordings from the morning itself…

Hi Alan. We hope you have had some good rest since you played your extended set at Jaded on Sunday? How was it for you?

I really enjoyed Sunday. I always enjoy playing long sets but it was especially fun at Jaded because I feel like I can play anything I want. At the start I played a bit of dub, a bit of house, some weird trippy stuff and built it into the more peak-time tracks so I got to play all the styles that I am in to. It also felt like a home-town gig for me with plenty of people coming down especially to see me play. This was the third time I have played for Jaded and so I was well aware of what to expect but this was the first time I have played all morning in that room from when it opened to when it closed which was so much fun and I can’t wait to come back and do it all again soon.

You mention this was the third time you played for us but how long have you been aware of Jaded?

I initially knew about Jaded back around 2007. Some friends of mine were booking Raymundo to play at the High Tide parties in Southampton where I live and so I heard him play on some boat parties and all day sessions and through that connection I learnt about the Jaded parties at AKA. It is funny though because if you had asked me what Jaded was all about back then I would have said that it was more of a house or tech house vibe so I am really pleased that the Jaded crowd seem to have taken to me and the style of techno that I play.

You looked like you had a lot of fun on Sunday. What is it that you enjoy about Jaded?

It is all about the vibe. You guys always work hard to get a nice mix of people in the club and that creates a really good atmosphere with everyone getting on with each other. Naturally you get people there who want to carry on after being to other parties on Saturday night and they bring a real party feeling with them but I noticed on Sunday that there were a lot of people who had clearly just come out fresh faced and ready to party at breakfast time on a Sunday which is amazing. I got to speak to a few people after I played and everyone was really cool. There were guys there from all over the world. I spoke to people from Italy, Spain, Australia, Holland… all over. London is so multi-cultural that really the only place where I go that you get this special mix of party people is in Berlin and so for me Jaded is the closest thing to the much fabled Berlin after hours scene that I have experienced anywhere and I think that is something really special to be a part of.

You came up to Jaded straight from home on Sunday morning. How is it getting into the after hours vibe when you have only been awake for a couple of hours?

Yeah, I played in Edinburgh on Friday night and I had all Saturday at home before coming up to London on Sunday morning. We had some breakfast on the way and went straight to the club so it felt a little bit weird to be in that environment when I hadn’t even had a drink! It didn’t take too long to get into the vibe though which was a good job as it was quite eventual up in the DJ booth. There was one guy whose vision was obviously playing tricks on him as he was trying to give me money in return for a JD and coke! I managed to convince him he would get more luck by going to the bar so it all ended well. These sort of things just make playing Jaded even more of a special event to play because I can honestly say I have never been mistaken for a barman while i’ve been DJing anywhere else!

You played nearly 5 hours on Sunday. How do you approach such a long set?

It is quite rare for me to get to play for this long as I am usually playing as part of a line up of other DJs so I made sure I put aside a lot of time in the days before the gig to think about the records that would work in that after-hours environment. It isn’t as easy as preparing for a normal Saturday night gig as you don’t necessarily know what sort of crowd you are going to get. The club might be full of people who had been thumping it out to techno at Fabric or they might have been to a house night in a warehouse or to quite a clubby night at Ministry so getting the vibe right to cater to such a mixed crowd is an interesting challenge. I love playing after hours though as it means I get to play some of the tracks that I never ever get to play in a club. For example, on Sunday I played things like a Saso Recyd edit of Burial’s Archangel track, some Rex Hanson dub techno, a Radioslave remix of Snap and some old Technasia techno tracks, so a real mix of music from all sorts of genres and eras.

Have you ever played at Cable before, for other promotions than Jaded?

I haven’t actually but I would recommend it to anyone as I think Cable is a great venue. The dynamics of the room are really cool with great sound and a well laid out DJ booth and the little chill out corners really add to the whole crazy after hours vibe. I know there are lots of popular dub step and drum and bass nights held there and James Ruskin and Mark Broom host their Blueprint nights at Cable too so I can tell that it is a music venue that is respected by great artists and discerning clubbers alike. I imagine the vibe at a Jaded event is pretty unique though compared to other times just because the crowd are so diverse and everyone is on that slightly wonky Sunday morning vibe.

You have been kind enough to let us have two one-hour recordings from your set on Sunday. For those who weren’t at Jaded, what can people expect from the mixes?

I picked out two sections from the recording. One from the earlier part of my set which is me playing a lot of the music I don’t normally get to play in my club sets and the other is from later on in the night when I was building things into a more peak-time sound. I wanted to give you snippets of what happened on the night rather than try and get across the whole recording of the night in a recording as I don’t think it would be possible to get the energy and atmosphere that was going off in that room from just a recording. I am really pleased with how the recording came out and hopefully they give everyone something special to remember the night with. If you weren’t there and you like what you hear then hopefully I’ll see next time I play Jaded.


Alan’s next London appearance will be for Drumcode Halloween Fright Night at the Great Suffolk Street Warehouse. It’s become the highlight of the year for many a Jaded regular and we’re looking forward to hearing Alan play alongside Adam Beyer, Maetrik (Live), Joseph Capriati, Pan-Pot and Nicole Moudaber amongst others.
First release tickets on sale here.

Finally, here are some photos from last Sunday morning from Alan and the Advance Artists crew.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Further listening.

Alan Fitzpatrick
http://www.alanfitzpatrickmusic.com
https://www.facebook.com/officialalanfitzpatrick
http://www.twitter.com/alanfitzpatrick
Alan Fitzpatrick

Jaded
http://jadedlondon.wordpress.com
Jaded London
https://www.facebook.com/Jadedlondon
https://twitter.com/Jaded_at_Cable

Cable
www.cable-london.com

Leave a Reply

